Portuguese Government approves Regulation for the Process of Recognition of Digital Innovation Poles

The Regulation for the Process of Recognition of the Digital Innovation Centers was recently approved. This document, issued by the Ministry of Economy and Digital Transition, is intended to create a National Network of Digital Innovation Poles /  Digital Innovation Hubs , bearing in mind the priorities defined in the Action Plan for Digital Transition.

This National Network will be articulated with the European Digital Innovation Hubs Network, being part of the European framework programs for 2021-2027 of the European Commission for R&D and Innovation (Horizon 2020 and Digital Europe). It is intended that, after being officially recognized, the national Poles can generate added value at European level, becoming potentially candidates to join the European Network, after specific competition (s) to be opened by the European Commission under the Program Digital Europe.

The Digital Innovation Hubs (or Digital Innovation Hubs ) – collaborative networks made up of specific digital competence centers – aim to encourage the adoption of advanced digital technologies by companies, especially SMEs, through the development, testing and experimentation of these same technologies.

In view of the significant differences in the levels of digitization, in regional and sectorial terms, the National Network of Innovation Poles will be born through cooperation between several partners, such as Interface Centers (CIT), Collaborative Laboratories (CoLAB) or Clusters of competitiveness, in conjunction with companies and other R&D and innovation entities, contributing to strengthen the National Innovation System.

ANI – National Innovation Agency, will integrate the Evaluation Committee of Digital Innovation Hubs.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Australian Government Selects ICEYE for Near Real-Time Flood and Bushfire Data...

ICEYE , a world-leading provider of natural catastrophe solutions and insights, has been selected by the Federal Government of Australia to supply flood and bushfire...